top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSamantha Eldridge

I'm cutting Spider-Man from the stream.

**This post contains spoilers from Marvel's Spider-Man**


I really don't know how to start this post. I definitely do not want to come across as a douchey film major, but also to the three (3) people who watch my stream (and anyone who may watch in the future lol), they deserve an explanation as to why I won't be playing Spider-Man on stream anymore.


First, and foremost, I feel like I wasn't doing a good job covering it. It's not my best work. I don't want to put out something that I feel is sub-par, and this play-through 100% feels sub-par to me. I'm sure it feels that way to you, as well. There are probably 1000's of play-throughs on this game across Twitch and YouTube, so I don't feel any obligation to complete it on stream.


Next, (and here's where I'm worried about sounding douchey) I am not having as much fun playing it. I don't know if the game was over-hyped to me, but I feel a little let down with the game overall. Keeping in mind, I am currently about 35% of the way through the main story, I feel like the story is generic. Also, *SPOILER ALERT AHEAD* Martin Li turning out to be a Demon was just about the most predictable thing that could've ever happened. As a story, I am not satisfied, but I am satisfied with the game mechanics.


The game play itself is a saving grace for this game. I love the fighting mechanics in this game, and zipping across buildings all over New York will never NOT be satisfying. For me, though, when I play a narrative game (especially one that was so hyped like Spider-Man), I am expecting to be knocked-out by the story. That being said, I do want to give this game a fair shot. I wasn't having fun on stream, but maybe playing it by myself will be what I need to fully form an opinion on the game.


So, here is my vow: I am going to restart Marvel's Spider-Man by myself. I will play it alone, and, hopefully, it won't take as long to complete. After I finish the game, I will follow up with another post that will be a fully formed review and opinion on the game. Until then, sit tight, and enjoy the other content that I have on my Twitch channel.


Thank you for your continued support and understanding.


Love,

Samantha

14 views0 comments
bottom of page